Brownie – fairy facts

The contents in the letter left to me by me seanmhair have piqued my curiosity. While I was taking a break from unpacking, I decided to research what I can about brownies or brúinidh as they are known in Gaelic. Most of it was basic facts, and I’ll do some more digging later after I finish unpacking.

Brownies are written about in English and Scottish folklore. It’s said that to have a brownie in your home will bring luck to you. Due to these folklores, people would keep a seat by the fire for the brownie to sit in when done working. After finding information on them, it makes sense why I was told to leave the cream out for him.

If the brownie feels they aren’t getting the appreciation they deserve, then it could lead them to turn into boggarts. Their alter-ego is known to mess with people by pulling blankets off and placing their clammy hands on their cheeks. Another warning is not to give them new clothes as this could lead to them vanishing forever from home.

Leave a comment